You need to write an essay addressing the topic below: Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is an ongoing debate between some people who believe that young people should follow the traditions of their society and others who believe that they should be free to behave as individuals . In my opinion, following social traditions is a must for young people but personal freedom is also very important for young people.

Young people should follow social traditions, because most time- tested values are rooted in the life experiences of previous generations and have been passed down through the centuries. This is one of the factors that contribute to nurturing well adjusted young citizens. For example, traditionally Vietnamese parents have the mindset of covering to their children the importance of bowing to elders, which shows their deep respect and appreciation.

On the other hand, there has been an emphasis on personal development. The initial reason is related to some traditions that are no longer relevant to modern society. The traditional notion that women are responsible for all household chores is a typical example. Obviously , for independent young women, they will defy this because as a positive statement of life. For example, if parents force their children to follow traditional careers to ensure a better future without respecting their choices and interests, the creativity and potential of these young people will not be nurtured and developed to their fullest.

In conclusion, I believe that young people have the freedom to adopt and practice individual concepts as long as they are in line with moral standards and build lasting values.