You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is often a topic of argument that long term job sekers who receive government benefits should be made to give back to the community by participating in voluntary work. I completely agree with this initiative, the individuals are not idle just because they are currently out of work and also they can acquire skills in these jobs which can be beneficial to them later in the future

There is the saying that ” an idle man is the devil’s workshop”, this is just simply that someone who has nothing doing have the tendencies of doing something bad or even criminal. If those in between jobs are made to participate in voluntary jobs, this keep their hands and minds occupied. In addition, this in turn reduce crime rate in that society . For instance, it has been found that communities with a lot of voluntary jobs for the unemployed youths tends to have reduced crime rate.

In the course of this, these individuals can also pick up some skills which can be of self benefit later in the future, they can also decide to open businesses from this learned skills and create employment for themselves. For example, I own a cleaning company and the initiative to start this business was gotten while I volunteered in a community cleaning project sponsored by the city.

In conclusion, I believe the unemployed masses, should be compelled to get involved in voluntary work as this has both a positive impact on the community and also the populace.