You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

I completely disagree with the statement that long-term employees should do voluntary jobs as they are receiving benefits from the goverment because they are paying taxes and working for the community. Moreover, the voluntary job should be a personal choice based on the purpose rather than based on the the belief that employees have to do work voluntarily to return to the benefits they are receiving.

When full-time or part-time employees, who are working for long time, receive their pay and pay stubs include the deductions of the different types of taxes. Therefore, these employees are already returning something to the country. For instance, workers in ontario receive pay after deductions of the federal tax, the provincial tax and the Canada Pension Plan. Thus, these workers are contributing to the benefits policies provided by the goverment through the taxes. Also, most of these jobs include the work to serve the community. For example, nursing and other healthcare job workers are serving the community through their jobs. Therefore, they are providing the community their service in return to the benefits.

Furthermore, the voluntary work should be the individuals’ personal choice based on the purpose rather than by forcing them to work for it. For example, many individuals work voluntarily in the charity sectors so that they can perform some good work and contribute to the society. Because it is their purpose to do work without any pay. On the other hand, if individuals are forced to work voluntarily in return of benefits, it does not have any purpose rather than being forced for a job.

In conclusion, employees who work for long time are contributing to the society either through their job or by taxes. Goverment should not force them for voluntary work as the voluntary work should be the invidividual’s choice.