You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A wholesome of people are seeking long-term jobs in receipt of government benefits. Accordingly, two opposing perspectives have risen from within the community. A group of people suggests that they should be doing some voluntary work as a payback to the community. On the other hand, another group of people believes that such a demand is presumptious and over demanding.

The first group has a few reasons on which their claims rely. Firstly, the community needs to have something in return. Secondly, there is a clear decline in the numbers of social workers, resulting in undone tasks for the people. For example, there are some shelters and orphanages in need for managements and volunteers to assist in the process of legalities and keeping the well-being of everyone in such facilities. Solving such a problem would contribute significantly in making the community a much better place. It should also become one of the main duties for all long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits.

The second group has some basis for their claim as well. They believe that it’s not in their job descriptions to be performing such tasks. Besides, they should not be obligated to do voluntary work as this defies the purpose of voluntary work. “Voluntary work” by definition means that it should be done in terms of free-well not obligation of any sort. In addition, the group suggests that it is the government’s responsability to solve all unmet needs of the communities such as shelters and orphanages.

In summary, both claims are very reasonable and sane. The government should address such claims seriously in order to find the best course of action.