You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Nowadays, people spend a great deal of time sitting, leading to health problems. Why does this happen? What are the best ways to encourage people to sit less?Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There are more people spending much of their time sitting than exercising recently. Not only does this cause short term health problems but it also increases the long term health problems.

Many people, especially the office workers, must stay in the office sitting for a great amount of time. Most of the 9 to 5 office workers have to work more than 8 hours a day. This can lead to various health problems, such as back pain, neck pain, or even muscle stiffness. The work demands and the office regulations enabled office workers to move as often as possible, even for stretching. Many of them complain that at the young age they already feel like elderly as their bodies feel stiff and sore. Besides the short term effect, the long term health problems that may appear are the knee problems and diabetes because of lack of exercise.

To solve this problem, people should be more aware of how important it is to exercise. They can start with doing some stretching in between the work hours or they can do a small walk around the office. They also need to be aware that sitting for a long period of time can cause some changes in their bones structure and it may cause a long term health problems. In order to do this, the office has to increase their awareness and support their employees’ health by having some programs, such as morning stretch or exercise before starting the day.

To conclude, the people’s awareness of how important it is to stretch and exercise needs to be increased. People also need to realize how dangerous it could be to sit in a long period of time as it may cause some health problems.