You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

In many nations, primary and secondary schools give summer vacation for two or more months to their children. This essay will examine the importance of extended holidays and the comparison of shorter holidays.

On the one hand, the long holidays enhance the students’ ability to make good relationships with family and social activities. When children have more spare time, they can entertain with family members by going on trips and attending parties, which fosters the development of good behaviors and growth of cognitive abilities. For instance, a recent study conducted by UNICEF said that 15% of the creativity increased due to the long-term holidays in Japan. So long holidays help to improve younger children’s lives.

On the other hand, some argue that shorter holidays are better than longer holidays because while students are on long holidays, there will be a chance of a reduction in involvement in studies. So small gap vacations make students more enthusiastic with studies and school activities, and as a result, students easily remember their last syllabuses and engage them to follow their courses successfully without any distractions. For example, in Sri Lanka, secondary school students have only two weeks’ leave; therefore, there is less chance of distractions such as addiction to mobile phones and involvement in part-time jobs. However, long-term holidays give more opportunities compared with short-term ones.

In conclusion, numerous continents follow the extended vacations for their school children. However, long holidays help to develop students’ personal and educational growth.