You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, environmental concerns are on the rise, with people fearing its consequences.

Some believe that radical change in the environment will lead to the impossibility of staying on planet earth, and the solution might come to find another planet. I pesonally believe that this is not the correct aproach for the problem, instead we should focuse more on what we can do here rather then where we sould move in the future.

In the one hand, it is factual that environmental change is a real threat to humanity, and is also clear that we need to change habits and practices, because if not, we might not be able to reverse this situation in the future. Take for example the global warming issue. We know for a fact that the earth, due to emissions of CO2 and other gases, is warming up at an abnormal rate. Moreover, this increase in temperature acelerates the melting of glaciers, and because glaciers are a giant reflector of sun radiation, this creates a cycle where less radiation is being reflected and in consequece the temperature increases even more.

On the other hand, thinking that the solution is finding another planet is an irrational aproach. First of all, lets not even think about the logistics of transporting 8 billion people to another planet. Furthermore, there are neither the technology and the possibility of finding a planet that is as perfect as planet earth, so focusing on this solution is just a waste of time. If instead we focus in real solutions, we would be able to overcome this issue more easily.

To sum up, there are people who believe that the solution for environmental problems must be moving to another planet, but in my view, this way of thinking does not help to fight the problem, instead we should focus our energies on finding ways to solve this issue whithin our planet, and not outside of it.