You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are willing to reduce their flying time or stopping it in order to benefit the environment. I think the environment will greatly benefit from this act, as planes create carbon dioxide gas and takes a lot of fuel, and reducing flights will mean reducing these problems, and the benefit will surpass the disadvantages for individuals and businesses.

The planes emit carbon dioxide, and excessive amount of this gas will harm the environment.

this gas damages the Ozon layer which is necessary to protect the earth from the sun’s harmful rays, and also carbon dioxide is responsible for greenhouse effect. It traps the heat inside the earth and causes global warming, and global warming is responsible for rising sea water as it melts the ice of Antartica. So, reducing flights will help reducing carbon dioxide gas. Planes need a lot of fuel as well. These fuel are the natural resources of the earth, and it took millions of years to be created from dead animals and trees. So, planes are taking a large number of these fuels and if it keeps happening we will run out of fuel. And without fuel, the demand of other resources like trees and coals will increase and eventually we will run out of them as well.

On the other hand, If people are willing to stop unnecessary flights, specially the rich people owning private jets, the aforementioned problems can be easily solved. As it is an era of internet, it is not always necessary to travel in order to attend business meetings, because people can easily join in an online conference. By doing this, they are not only saving the environment but they are saving their businesses and individual time as well. Some people might face some disadvantages, like if people reduce travelling on planes, the companies that organize the schedules of the flights will reduce their flights too and as a result, one might not be able to randomly go to places in cases of emergencies.

In conclusion, reducing number of times people fly will greatly help the environment by saving fuel and reducing carbon emission. Some might face some disadvantages but if the environment is harmed, then we are less likely to survive. So, the environmental improvement outweigh the disadvantages of individuals and businesses.