You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Present a written argument o case to an educated non-specialist audience on the Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your You should write at least 250 words. You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

TRENDS AND FASHION HAS TAKEN OVER THE AMOUNT OF INTERESTS OR HOBBIES INDIVIDUALS HAVE MORE THAN WHAT THEY ACTUALLY WANT TO DO IN THEIR SPARE TIME. THIS IS DUE TO THE INFLUENCE OF SOCIAL MEDIA AS THE WORLD IS MORE DIGITALIZED AND THE IMITATING HABIT OF INDIVIDUALS.

SOCIAL MEDIA IS A BIG PART OF THE LIVES OF INDIVIDUALS IN THE WORLD TODAY WITH EVERYTHING BEING DIGITALIZED AND LOOKED UP IN THE INTERNET. THE INTERNET IS STRUCTURED TO DISPLAY TRENDS, PAID ADS, AND POPULAR TOPICS AND AS A RESULT OF THIS, FASHION HAS TAKEN OVER 40% OF THIS SPACE. FOR INSTANCE, THE MORE PEOPLE LOOK TO THE INTERNET THE MORE THEY ARE DRAWNS TO THESE TRENDS THEREBY DIVERTING THEIR ATTENTION, TAKING THEIR TIME AND REDUCING THEIR INTEREST TO DO ANYTHING ELSE THEY MIGHT HAVE PLANNED TO DO.

IT HAS BEEN PROVEN THAT 60% OF HUMAN BEINGS LIKE TO IMITATE ANYTHING. THEY TEND TO COPY AND LIVE THEIR LIVES ACCORDING TO TRENDS, FOR EXAMPLE, DECORATING THEIR ROOMS IN ALL PINK BECAUSE THE PINK AESTHETICS BECAME VERY POPULAR. THIS THEREBY REDUCES THE AMOUNT OF TIME THEY HAVE SET ASIDE FOR THEIR HOBBIES OF INTERESTS.

IN CONCLUSION, PEOPLE ARE MORE ATTRACTED TO TRENDS AND FASHION DUE TO THE INFLUENCE OF THE SOCIAL MEDIA AND THEIR HABIT OF IMITATING LIFESTYLES. AS A RESULT OF THIS, THEIR INTEREST CHANGES WITH THEM SPARING ANY TIME FOR WHAT THEY ACTUALLY WANT TO DO.