You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

There are two or more months of summer holidays in primary and secondary school in some countries. This essay will examine the benefits of long holidays and the reasons why shorter holidays might be preferable.

On the one hand, long holidays provide rest from school. While students are at school, they feel stress and burdened because of exams, society, and studying. Every day students learn new things; some can grasp it at once, however, there are also types of students that need some time to assimilate it. In addition, at school you meet different types of people, and there can be people who affect you negatively or positively. People also need relaxation from exams. To check their education, students pass various tests and exams. They feel uncomfortable and stressed because exams govern their lives. The solution to these problems is long holidays. Two months or even more of summer holidays can help students to recover from school. Moreover, on holidays people can have more communication with their friends, family, and relatives. On holidays, students can spend their time on hobbies, sports, and friends. For example, in summer I see that my friends become more productive and cheerful because they can attend the sport clubs that they want and hang out a lot.

On the other hand, some argue that shorter holidays are better for students. With shorter holidays, students focus only on studying. For instance, there are 4 seasons and 4 holidays for each season in Kazakhstan at schools. But in the 3rd quarter, before the real spring holidays, there are a lot of holidays in March. Unfortunately, these holidays can be on the day when students have an exam or test. Consequently, people just cannot pass it on time.

In conclusion, there are a lot of advantages of long holidays for students and some arguments that shorter holidays are better, but long holidays seem to be more beneficial for students’ social development.