You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals have reduced their consumption of aviation services or no longer take flights altogether. This change has both advantages and disadvantages; however, I personally believe that the drawbacks it may cause to individuals and businesses outweigh its environmental benefits.

On one hand, a reduction in the number of flights can help mitigate environmental pollution. It is obvious that airplane production needs a large amount of metals and compounds whose excavation could be extremely harmful to the environment. If residents’ demands for flying decrease, there will be a significant decline in the supply of planes from manufacturing businesses to reduce costs. This will contribute to discouraging mining activities of metal ores and other raw materials, and minimizing hazardous smoke released in the manufacturing process.

On the other hand, this development can have a serious influence on airlines, relevant businesses and individuals employed in the industry. As fewer people have a demand for take flights, the number of airplanes produced would also fall due to a decrease in the quantity of orders from airlines, causing revenues in the industry to dramatically drop. Moreover, this downward trend could severely affect the overall economic well-being, as the proportion of people working in this field would go down due to layoffs and fewer additional human resources, and airlines, manufacturing companies and other associated commerical businesses would be at the risk of bankruptcy.

Furthermore, that more people switching to using other modes of transportation, such as railway and sea, could become a massive burden for other services industries. This is because current infrastructure does not have sufficient capacity to meet this increasing demand, leaving businesses in this field much financial pressure, including additional investments and maintenance costs.

In summary, I suppose that this development can be a challenge for the whole economy, which can overshadow the advantage it brings to the environment. Although the environment pollution can be alleviated, many companies and labors in the aviation industry, and other businesses in other services fields can be impacted negatively.