You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

In numerous countries it is common to close primary and secondary schools during the summer holidays. It is claimed that longer school holidays allow children to travel abroad to get familiar with other cultures. In addition, schoolers can spend more time with their families and friends. However, a shorter period of holidays may help children to stay focused on the learning process, and enable them to be more prepared to work during summers in the future.

The main advantage of the extended period of holidays is an opportunity to visit other countries. By exploring foreign cultures and their lifestyle, children can gain new experience which can help them to become broad-minded. For instance, recent research in the field of adolescent psychology found that children who traveled a lot are usually less conservative, and more adaptive to changes in society, since they saw that people’s lifestyle in other parts of the world can be distinctive. In addition, extended holidays allow children to spend more time with their families as well as friends. Thus, it can enhance their communicative skills in informal surroundings.

Admiteddly, there are certain advantages in short holidays. First and foremost, it helps children to remain focused on their studying. Iong holidays make children less attentive and disengaged which hampers the process of learning in September. In contrast, short holidays help schoolers to dive into studying again easily. Secondly, if children have shorter holidays, they will be better prepared to work in the future, since adults attend their job in summers too.

In conclusion, it is common for many countries to close educational institutions during summer holidays for two months or above. While it enables children to travel and get familiar with foreigh traditions as well as reunite with their familes, short holidays allow children to be more focused on learning and be better prepared for the further career prospects.