You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

The period of schools’ summer holiday differs from one country to another, in some countries holidays reache to more than two months, while some countries prefer to keep the holidays short. This essay will explore the cons of both arguments.

On one hand, longer holidays allow children to spend more quality time with their parents and siblings, which is a very important social and cultural aspect in various communities and countries. In addition, children get chance to be engaged in different educational and uneducational activities, thereby they get the opportunity to explore and enjoy new hobbies. For instance, joining a family camping club during summer allow kids to enjoy the company of their families at the same time enjoying the experience of walking and observing and learning about the natural surroundings.

On the other hand, Short summer holidays are the best obtion for the kids’ education and studies; a shorter break leads to shorter amount of years to be spent on primary and secondary years. Moreover, when summer breaks are shorter, the educational day itself tend to be shorter; so instead of spending the whole afternoon at school and exhausting the kids with extensive amount of lectures, students get the chance to go back home early and spend the rest of the day with their families or friends from the neighborhood. In conclusion, both short and long summer holidays have their pros and cons, and parents choose the schools that suits their working lives and what is suitable for the kids’ education.