You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic: The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion mil be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life. You should write at least 250 words. Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Nowadays, it is believed that sticking to a single profession is no longer the trend, and having several careers is becoming a preferred lifestyle choice.

Having more than one occupation gives you a wide range of skills and an opportunity to connect with more people. Besides, it’s a way to increase the amount of money earned. However, it’s worth keeping in mind that having multiple professions doesn’t necessarily mean working for another company or corporation. Instead it may refer to an individual becoming a freelancer and starting their own business. For example, many people are professionals in graphic design or software development, and all they need to start their work is a laptop and professionalism. On the other hand, one of the key drawbacks of having many jobs is the overlapping of duties. As a result, a worker may not be able to meet deadlines and maintain a balance between professions.

By contrast, few see that having only one job is completely enough. One of the major factors that support this idea is when the income that comes from a single career is sufficient, and therefore, there is no need to get involved in another occupation. Another factor is that they have to dedicate their time and effort in order to get promoted and achieve a higher rank in their company.

In my opinion, whether a person has one occupation or many is not a big deal, as it depends on their wide range of skills and knowledge. Continuing in education is a must for either getting a promotion in terms of a single profession or acquiring knowledge to shift your career across multiple professions.