You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people today believe that the world's increase in population is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world's economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is argued by some people that the growing population of the world is unsustainable and will eventually lead to global crisis while others believe that this trend is crucial and

beneficial since it supports the economy and society of the world. In my opinion, the rise in population is the main cause of poverty in many places around the world and it can also reduce the quality of the life of many individuals.

The growth in population can greatly damage the society and environment. The demand for consumer goods increases as the population grows, leading to the depletion of natural resources. As a consequence, the prices for all the resources become less affordable all around the world putting most of the countries in poverty. Additionally, urbanization takes place and the rapid inflow of people from rural to urban areas causes many environmental problems like insufficient and polluted water, poor housing areas, poor health and spread of diseases, leading to a decrease in quality of life. Therefore, I believe the degradation of the economy and ecology is caused mainly by the population growth and it will cause more harm to society than good.

An increase in population plays a crucial role in the growth of both the economy and society but it creates damages at the same time. There is no doubt that with a larger population of people, the ability to produce goods and services will increase along with consumer demand. Although these facts contribute to the economic growth and better living standards of the people, rapid population growth can cause unemployment, poverty and inequality. Moreover, inadequate social services in housing, healthcare, education and transportation can arise due to population growth.

In conclusion, it is my belief that the increasing population can bring more problems in addition to the current ones. Therefore, it would be better to raise awareness about the rapidly growing population and what we can do to prevent it.