You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

While one school of thoughts hold that in this modern age, we tend to increasingly rely on each other, others believe that people have become more independent. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives before proposing my own opinion on this issue.

On the one hand, there are two primary reasons for the growing trend of people being dependent on other people. The first reason is some countries are under-developed because of the high rate of poverty and unemployment, which is likely attributed to respective authorities not having any policies to help the poor and to encourage more entrepreneurs to build their own brands. To cope with this, many governments decided to construct shelters for homeless people and provide financial aid for the poor so that poor people can depend on social welfare and be able to access to basic services such as education and healthcare, reducing the country’s poverty rate. Also, more entrepreneurs are dependent on authorities’ help on acquiring the international market’s information and their funds to have sufficient conditions for establishing and maintaining their own companies. Another reason is that people may need to rely on products made from others for living. For example, agricultural products such as milk, rice, or vegetables are needed for people’s daily meals to ensure people absorb enough nutritions.

On the other hand, opponents of latter statement may give some notable indication of people have become more independent. Firstly, there are more and more adolescents deciding to relocate from home, moving to another cities or countries to pursue their desired study or career path, instead of residing at home with their parents. Secondly, because the development of advanced technology has led to the increased establishments of social platforms where people can freely share their opinions or experiences, more intellectual knowledge have had the opportunity to be prevalent. Therefore, students can find a myriad of resources for educational purposes on the Internet and study on their own pace rather than depend on their teachers. In this way, pressure on teachers can be reduced, as in usual conditions, teachers have to cover disparities in students’ abilities, creating different teaching strategies which may take a lot of time.

In conclusion, while serving for economic purposes and the need to rely on indispensable products made from others have provided dynamics for increased dependence, I believe that being independent is the prevailing trend among individuals. The positive or negative implications of these trends remain to be seen, but striking a balance between them can help society achieve progress.