You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people have taken the decision to reduced the amount of flights per year or even stop flying completely. In my view, if this quantity is in a compact scale i personally believe that the benefits of flying do not outweigh the environmental benefits. However, my opinions shifts if this matter is discussed in a large quantity of individuals.

At the moment, small changes do not impact positively enough to improve the quality of the environment and more precisely the atmosphere. To illustrate that, lets assume that we are refering to 100 individuals as some people, who reduced their flying time or even stoped doing that activity. In a global scale, this group does little to nothing when it comes to increasing the quality of the current environment just because they do not have a reasonable size that can cause impact. Despite not being sufficient, a slight or thin change that can be provoked by this small group is better than doing nothing. In business this would not cause a significant impact.

Large scale changes can cause a significant and important impact, positively and negatively, in the environment. On the bright side, the air would be less poluted by fuel emissions. For instance, if 100 million humans stoped flying for a year, a positive outcome be generated with the drop of pollution in the air. On the downside, this positive feedback could be disastrous for the business, as it would lead to a drop in revenue. For example if 100 million people stoped flying or flew less, a huge quantity of flights would not happen, which would significantly reduce the company’s profit and revenue.

In conclusion, as a non business person, a tend to believe that the environmental benefits of this occurence can outcome the disavantages for individuals or businesses but, I am aware that it can generate serious consequences in business.