You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some individuals think that their future on this planet is no longer secure due to the adversity of environmental problems that currently exist. For existence to prevail, one needs to find another planet that fosters life. I completely disagree with this statement. Neither we have any scientific proof that life exists somewhere else other than the Earth, nor can we run away from the issues that the world is facing.

Inspite of numerous rocket launches and experiments done by several space research centres across the world, no one has been able to find any evidence regarding life existing on other planets. For example, rovers have been sent to Mars by NASA to check if there is any presence of oxygen or water. The type of soil has also been studied to see if it is fit for agriculture. Even though some positive results have been identified, this is just at a beginning stage, and doesn’t guarantee a life. Moreover, it will not be feasible to fly everyone to another planet as the cost will be high, and only the rich ones will be able to afford.

The whole world is facing severe environmental issues like global warming, air pollution, melting of glaciers, and improper disposal of garbage and plastic. Instead of being united and finding concrete solutions to these problems, one can’t just look away, blame each other and find a way to escape. For example, many countries have included environmental issues in the areas that they need to focus on within a given time period. Many recycling plants have also been set up.

In conclusion, escaping from facing current environmental problems only does more harm than good. Setting high hopes of living in another planet where life may or not be possible is unimaginable. One needs to find what is here and now than fantasize their way out.