You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people often argue that the working week should be reduced so that the employees can enjoy a longer weekend. In my opinion, I partially agree with this statement, because this can be beneficial for the working professionals in many waysas it can provide a healthier work life balance for them. However, it can negatively harm companies as it can lower the production output and increase the production cost.

On the one hand, giving a long weekend can provide the employees time to relieve themselves. It can reduce their stress caused by working in the office and the long meetings. This approach can be very beneficial becuase the indivdual can invest some time on themself instead of working continously for their client. In many European nations for example, it is mandatory for the companies to serve their employees with extra leaves which can later contribute to a longer weekend in order to keep the working class stress-free and healthier.

On the other hand, reducing the working days can be very disadvantageous for corporations. Many industries like metal and healthcare, that need continuous workflow can face challenges while providing their workers extra weekends as these companies cannot halt their production or operations. Moreover, this development can also causesignificant increase in the price of things because companies might need to hire extra workers in order to keep their operations running at the same pace. For instance, in many European nations as the HR policies are very strict for companies, the companies need to hire extra employees compared to many underdeveloped nations where these policies are not being implemented. This results in high production cost. Therefore, the final product also gets expensive.

In conclusion, though shorter working periods can improve the work-life balance and health of an employee, I believe it should not be reduced drastically. A balanced approach is required in order to keep the business operating without any disruption by keeping the employees happy and stress-free.