You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on adding a day to a weekend break that makes workdays shorter. Many people believe that workdays should become short and there should be an addition to the weekend break. While others argue that the current breakdown of the week is fine and no tweak is required. I partly agree and partly disagree with this position as longer weekends give more time to unwind, relax and participate in extra-curriculars. Yet it may also result in more work stress, financial pressure and hold up tasks.

To begin with, I agree that weekends should be longer, as in this fast-growing world, most of the professions are exhausting with workers and employees with no me-time or a break for their family’s events or gatherings. Moreover, they find it very difficult to plan vacations or even a visit to their hometown as most of the working-class live away from their families. As I speak of myself, being a doctor and teacher, I spend my weekend doing nothing and feeling drained and drenched by the workload and stress from the approaching deadlines. I struggle a lot with my schedules whenever I plan to travel. Therefore, I am much more of a believer that weekends should be extended and workdays must shrink a little.

Additionally, I disagree with decreasing workdays just to make the days-off longer because shrinking working days results in more delay in things getting done, and the pending tasks keep on stacking up. Being a physiotherapist and a biology instructor alongside made me understand that the more days I take off, the more I struggle with scheduling my appointments and delivering my lectures on time. The outcome of reduced days at the job is fewer tasks delivered, patients treated, and revenue generated. Furthermore, longer weekends usually result in spending more on leisure, self-care and hoteling and at the end of the month, many may outrun their budgets. In a broader picture, any reduction in the weekdays may slow down the whole system, and it might also affect the economy.

In conclusion, work-life balance is important, but it feels more like a dream nowadays. Yet extending weekends may not solve the problem to its core and might cause chaos in many other ways. By adjusting working hours or making new policies that make sure workers and employees don’t burn out, a balance between work and leisure can be maintained.