You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely accepted by many individuals to decrease the amount of flying or even completely stop it. While this change may be beneficial for the environment, I believe that it would be inconvenient for many people and businesses and so outweigh the positive aspects.

On the one hand, the fall in the number of flights would influence the environment in a positive way. It is clear that, annually, a large amount of carbon dioxide is produced only from planes because of the burning of fossil fuels. Following that, it negatively affects the surrounding environment, causing serious issues. For instance, recent research has shown that global warming is becoming a serious threat to the environment due to increased temperature, which modifies habitats, making it impossible to live there. Moreover, global warming already started to destroy the Arctic poles, making thousands of species homeless.

On the other hand, flight travel plays a crucial role in the world economy. To begin with, traveling by flight is the most commonly used method of transportation by humanity, which means after its decline, the number of traveling people will considerably fall. Following that, it will significantly cut off the income of many countries which rely on flight travels as a primary source of income. Furthermore, such kind of transportation is the most convenient and fastest one, which means that its reduction will lead to falls in economic trading between countries and individuals. For example, according to the data, in the year 2011, the sudden closure of air space led to an enormous economic fall in the world trading arena.

In conclusion, the reduction of air flights may be efficient for the environment by stopping air pollution. However, such a decision may lead to negative consequences in the world economy. In my opinion, air flights are more beneficial for the economy in terms of travel and transportation; therefore, it outweighs its disadvantages.