You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. "Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals from society." To what extent do you support this view? You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed by many people that prison is the only method of punishment that can effectively eradicate criminals from society. I personally do not completely agree with this statement because of two main reasons, which I will outline now.

Firstly, to think of prison as the ultimate solution seems quite irrational because there are surely other methods that are somewhat lighter or harsher and can be used on different types of criminals with various crime levels. For example, a financial criminal who may be a less threat to society than a burglar could be punished by social works, which would be beneficial to both society and the government. On the other hand, a more dangerous criminal such as a murderer, a rapist, or a terrorist should be assigned a harsher punishment that would match their crime level.

Secondly, prisons have turned into a hub for criminals, where they make new connections and recruit new members to plan further criminal acts. This not only alleviates the pressure on society but also contributes to the problem in question. As an extreme example, in the Middle East, much of the recruitment for terrorist groups is done in the prisons, as they provide the most suitable markets.

In conclusion, despite the remarkable effectiveness of prisons, they cannot be thought of as the only solution available, as their impact is limited and also they come with some drawbacks such as criminal planning and recruitment. Overall, a combination of punishments should be employed to match the intensity of a criminal act.