You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the recent times, a lot of consumers prefer to shop local goods than buying imported products. There are several factors associated to is decision which can further lead to different outcomes. In the essay below, I would like to discuss it in detail.

One of the primary factor which leads people to buy locally is that they have more information about the produce. They know the conditions it has been grown or manufactured along with it’s transportation and storage conditions. People perceive that local products are more transparent and use clean ingredients in making of their final product, which is healty and a better alternative. For example a locally produced sauce will have lesser preservatives as compared to imported sauce bottle.

Another important factor is that it boosts the local economy. It provides small vendors a chance to sell their products without having to compete with big brands. For instance, a local vendor have thier market set up without investing a huge amount in marketing. In this way, people become more independent of buying local goods rather than importing foreign products which generates more revenue. This brings a growth for small businesses and economies.

Along with this it is also essential to understand that importing goods cannot be substitued entirely. There are certain raw materials, ingredients which are more easily available in other parts of the world like oil and gas, or certail types of fruits and vegetables. These products need to be imported since extracting or cultivating them will be difficult and turn out to be more expensive.

In conclusion, it is seen that relying on local goods apart from certain essential materials makes people more independent of foreign imports. And at the same time it is aspiring since they tend to provide a better healthier option.