A big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree?

Most people believe that earning a high income is more important than working a job that one satisfies. I personally disagree with this idea and hold the opposite view that one’s satisfaction of the job superseds the amount of money earned since doing a job you truly love helps you find the meaning and joy of life.

Firstly, people’s working hours take up most of the time in their life, a dissatisfaction with their occupation would result in a miserable life. Average worker in the sociey spend eight hours a day and five days a week doing their jobs. Therefore with plenty of time spent at working, one can get easily depressed if he dislikes what they undertake. A new study by the Economist suggests that in America, despite that high-income individuals such as doctors and engineers earns $200,000 a year, their feeling of happiness does not seem to have a dramatic increase, and is often lower than those who earn less wages.

Second of all, an enjoyable occupation leads to a sense of achievement, with which money cannot always purchase. It is crucial for each one of us to pursue an objective that fulfills our desires, and it is often not monetary. This means that people can work their way to become an artist, a musician or a writer who expresses their creativities to the mass despite that they are not well-paid. A prime example would be Karl Marx, who spent his whole life devoting in the socialist revolution cause enthusiastically, aiming to change the world albeit living in poverty for his whole life.

To conclude, job satisfaction can bring about the real meaning and fulfillment that often money does not. When it comes to choosing one’s career, it is wise to consider whether or not they are passionate about the occupation.