A big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree?

Choosing a job is a quite complicated task these days since people have different views regarding the question of what is more important in one’s career. According to popular stance, it is a more valuable way to be guaranteed an impressive wage as opposed to being satisfied at work. Although having a well-paid profession is vital, I do believe it is not much more important than job satisfaction, which, intriguingly, can bolster some individual’s long-term span.

For the majority of people, being promised a huge salary is more tempting than many other working terms and conditions. That is rational as we now live in a highly competitive and materialistic society where individuals need to spend a lot of money on various needs and wants. In addition, responsibility and pressure are two main factors that motivate people to look for jobs that are paid better. A single-parent household with two young children, for instance, might encourage the adult to make more money regardless of whether they are happy with their career or not. Thus, having a reliable source of income is what makes many humans’ lives better in many ways.

On the other hand, it is obvious that job satisfaction is a healthier choice that ensures more joy for an employee. We often hear stories about people who used to have well-paid positions but resigned because of burnout. Typically, in such cases, people have a jobs with numerous demands that are difficult to meet and enjoy doing. It is possible to force oneself to be employed in such an occupation for a certain amount of time, but not permanent. Conversely, those who are happy about their work release needed levels of dopamine regularly, keeping them interested in what they do, and generally healthier. On top of that, the reason why job satisfaction is crucial is its importance in a person’s growth. Growth is associated with financial progress as well, and athletes, for example, are individuals who may not make much money in the early stages of their careers but become millionaires once they reach an exact level.

In conclusion, even though going for a job that provides a bigger paycheck can be beneficial in some particular senses, having a job where one feels happier is significantly more critical for reasons related to health and growth.