A family has a great influence on children's development, but the influence outside their home plays a bigger part in children's life. To what extent do you agree

Each of us is surrounded with a lot of different kinds of influence. The very first knowledge we gain is from our parents. They teach us how to communicate and walk; explain what is bad and what is good. Our family provides us a foundation of understanding life. However the older we get, the more knowledge we gain from other people, too. We go to school, meet our first friends, get the first phone. In the end, we are surrounded with a bigger amount of affection than just two people. Nonetheless, does it mean that our parents’ influence is less valuable? I don’t think so, but environmental impact is essential on each step of our life path.

School is the place of knowledge. We studied there for nine or eleven years. During that time we gained much knowledge about our world based on subjects. We learnt how to interact with our tutors and classmates. Also, school could provide pupils with various clubs. There we had an opportunity to develop our passions. Our parents helped us with homework and supported us, when we needed it. However they wouldn’t teach us everything, what school did. We needed other people to do that.

In addition, we could find our first friends at school. Friends play a big part in our life, too. Sometimes, they become our second family. With them we can talk about everything, including about our parents; do our favourite things together; support each other. Our parents are our friends too, but it is not the same. Usually, we cannot talk to them about all our favourite stuff, because we are from long-distant generations and they are not that much interested. Moreover, our parents see us as their child foremost, whereas our friends see us as a separate person.

Technology seems to develop every day. Right now almost all of us have a phone. Social media has a lot of influence on people and on the world these days. We can get both lots of positives and lots of negatives from there. For instance, inspiration, motivation, support, knowledge, information, and also hatred, comparison, lies, propaganda, manipulation. Nonetheless social media helps us to express ourselves in different ways. Sometimes we need such people, who are not our close ones, so we could just take off all labels from us and just present ourselves freely without hesitation.

To conclude, family’s influence is very valuable in our lives, but they won’t always be with us. The biggest part of our life path will be outside our home. We will face lots of situations on our own and that way we will grow and build our personality. On one hand it’s important to remember lessons our parents taught us, on the other we should keep in mind our own experience.