A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a possitive or a negative development?

It is a well-known fact that a few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Despite some obvious benefits associated with this trend, they are eclipsed by the overwhelming flaws.

On the one hand, there are two primary benefits to the issue. To encourage economic globalization, an increasing number of people are studying the languages of the top economies in the world currently, which leads to a greater overall increase in global GDP. Because of this huge economic boost, bilingualism is becoming more and more popular, creating more job opportunities. Hence, they’ prospective can create a bridge between two diverse cultures and economies. For instance, English and Chinese are languages of choice today, and fluency is a skill sought after by international employers; accordingly, they hope to do business in both English and Chinese-speaking countries.

On the other hand, the negative usage of many other languages far outweighs these aforementioned advantages. Some words in many languages cannot be translated accurately into another language because they are specific to the cultural context. We see that language is the foundation of culture, so if people cannot communicate, they cannot form a collective identity, leading to confusion. Serious cultural erosion of humanity and the unique identity of each nation. For example, the Welsh language is barely spoken because the English sought to replace their culture following an invasion; thus, learning Welsh has been considered an important way to preserve culture for many young Welsh people. Furthermore, communities would lose parts of their cultural traditions, such as songs, myths, and poetry, which are not easily translated into another language. This may in turn affect their cultural identity, producing a weakened social cohesion as their values and traditions are replaced with new ones.

In conclusion, the custom of others speeches has more to lose than gain. The drawbacks should be taken into consideration before using globally