A highly competitive environment is believed to be good for both studying and working. Drawing on this, what is your opinion on the benefits and drawbacks of such an environment? In your essay, provide extended arguments supported by relevant evidence. Write at least 250 words. Recommended time to complete the task is 40 minutes.

It is believed that competition is a effective strategy for studying or working. But it also there ia a opinion that competitive atmosphere has a bad influence on these processes. For my own opinion, having a supporting environment in the group is essential and profitable rather than competitive one.

On the one hand, it is obviously, competitiveness is a strong power for productivity, because people can get better results in studying or working being under pressure of competition with others. This type of goal-orientation may motivate people achieve better grades on study or better KPIs at work. For example, in the most prestigious university in Russia, HSE, there is a rating system, that stimulating more deeper learning among students and growing-up determined well-qualified workers who will be ready for stress at work.

On the other hand, competitive atmosphere produces unhealthy relationships and rivalry, as well as it can decrease general well-being and quality of life among students or employees. From my point of view, the most significant disadvatage is a bad influence on mental health. I think that competition is built on comparison. Furthermore, recent studies from Harvard University show that pupils who compare themselves with others have more problems with mentality, such as a lack of self-confidence and low self-esteem. I believe that collaboration is a good alternative to competitiveness.

To summarize, competitive environment has a lot of advantages but it does not work effectively and favorably in long term because it causes a lot of mental problems and unfriendly climate in teams. In my opinion, people should motivate each other but they do not be rivals.