A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Social status and money are highly valued in today’s society and have changed our values to some extent. However, in everyday life I don’t believe a person’s worth is judged differently than in the past.

It is apparent that most celebrities and the rich are admired for their material wealth and property. Many of them are often known to betray their friends, parents, or even work illegally; nevertheless, things like owning an expensive or possessing a modern villa are exalted over old-fashioned values. Take Kim Cartesian for example, Her reality television program never shows any world class acting quality, but only shows about her luxurious mansions and fancy cars. And then there are other celebrities who are well known due to his/her social status as the son or the daughter of a wealthy family. For this reason, teenagers form wrong thinking about a person’s worth, It may lead to thoughtless action and causes an aberrant development.

However, I suppose that some individuals still believe in antiquated values such as kindness, honor and trust. Most of them want to form loving families and raise their children to be good citizens based on these vintage criteria. For instance, when people take advantage of their kindness, or they are unfairly treated, they see that as a major violation of the relationship and feel uncomfortable about that since they always put their self-esteem as a priority. Thus, they will get the right direction in their personal life and obtain a successful career.

In brief, although status and property as a measure of a person’s worth have become more popular, ordinary people show that the old values are still strong.