A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is quite common these days to value a human-being’s worth by social status and material possessions as rather than the old-fashioned values such as honour, kindness, and trust. While judging someone’s worth is easier by social status and material possessions, old-fashioned values should still be considered as the main criteria.

People tends to label a person’s worth by social status because it represents the power and wealth that one person possessed. This could occur due to the fact that money make everything runs smoothly in this economy state, so having a good amount of wealth put peoples in a higher social position, hence creating an image that those persons have higher worth. This is very well-reflected in the discrepancy that occur between wealthy figures and poor civilians, where the society tends to pay more respect to the wealthy ones and vice-versa.

Even though social status and material possessions seem to dominate common judgements when it comes to human’s worth, good-old honour, kindness, and trust still have their places in society and people should pay more attention to these values. Mentioning these so-called old values are unimportant would be wrong because in the end, peoples would have a faith in someone that already deemed to have good heart rather than those who have higher social status and material possessions. While it is understandable that it is much more challenging to acknowledge someone’s kindness, we would judge the person who had help us with pure intention and honesty, rather than those who just act in the name of attention and good name.

It can be concluded that even though social status and material can easily create a person’s worth, old-fashioned values like honour, kindness, and trust, would still be the main permutation when it comes to worth judgement.