Academic Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this. Why is this happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

Several families today are not being familiar as in the past and a lot of people nowadays are becoming used to this. In my opinion, this distance gives more disadvantages than advantages. This essay will demonstrate about the sources and drawbacks of this distance among family members.

There are several reasons that could cause families to keeping distance among their participants.

First, the internet which has numerous media. These media draw people to take times with them instead of spending times with their family, thereby leading to problems, for instance, isolation and misunderstanding between the participants. Next, having different attitudes is also one of a major reason, especially the points of view about politics and the governments, because topics about politics are dangerously sensitive. This leading to conflicts in many families and could bring to fighting, such as, scolding and hitting.

In my opinion, the distance between members give us more drawbacks than benefits. There are some avail about this distance. Firstly, we have more freedom in our life. We could be able to take care of ourselves and manage our life freely. However, this brings us to problems which involve mental health. Most of problem caused by ths distance is isolation, people start to keep their distances from others or only stay in thier safe zone such as their own room. Next, this decrease empathy among people slightly, making them have less cares about others.

To conclude, families today are not being close as in the past and many people are becoming used to this. It could caused by the internet addictions and different attitudes, particulary about politics. In my opinion, this could bring problems such as isolation and slightly decrease people’s empathy.