Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Water is one of the essential necessities of human life. Therefore, some individuals argue that it should be provided to every building free of charge. In my opinion, while access to clean water should be guaranteed for everyone, it should not be completely free. Instead, the government should introduce policies that ensure both affordability and responsible consumption.

On the one hand, if water were given free of charge, the government would face serious economic pressure. The provision of water without fees could also put financial pressure on other essential utilities, such as electricity or gas. For instance, if the authorities made water completely free, they would have to raise tariffs. Increasing the cost of electrical system might affect other factors: goods and services. Moreover, it may encourage social inequality due to financial conditions in the different social groups of population.

On the other hand, people would have a careless attitude to this opportunity. In other words, people might stop appreciating the true value of water, in which case the government approaches a shortage of the water supply. For example, the environment and future generations would suffer from a lack of clean water resources because they might not have the opportunities to use clean and safe water in the future. Overconsumption and waste of water could damage natural ecosystems and reduce the availability of this essential resource for years to come.Thus, setting a reasonable price for water would encourage people to use it more responsibly.

In conclusion, my position is disagreement with the statement because it would put not only financial and economic pressure but also careless attitudes and stop appreciating which affect the environment, eco system, future generations.