Across the world, local shops are closing due to losing customers to online competitors. What problems does this produce? And what solutions can you suggest to overcome them?

Online services are so popular nowadays that local competitros are unable to keep up, eventually disappearing. It produces such a problem like reducing the varaity of products and losing the local history. However, the way to cope with the problem is to adapt – this will be discuss in the essay.

The main problem is that the local business are dying as the are unable to offer the same level of customer experience. I switched to online platforms because I do not have enough time to visit shops offline. For instance, in many occasions, when it comes to clothes, I have no idea what I am looking for. Therefore, I can spend hours just looking into different ideas and options only to find a specific category of items, so then I can focus on looking the best in that category. It would be virtually impossible to pick anything if I attempted to do the same in person. That results in the situation that the unique stores and products are disappearing and a part of history and local culture disappeares with them.

Unfortunately, the only way to keep up with the changing market habits is to adapt. The online environment is dominating when it comes to advertisement and client experience. Both those factors are essential for any business – one is to attract new customers, another one is to keep the customer retention level high. However, it does not necessaraly mean that the whole business should transform immediatly. There are a lot of tools that allows implementing the most important components and keep the operational costs relatevely low. For example, interacting with the local community via social networks, like having an official page of the store. This way people find out about the local store and look at their products, so they can visit it offline later. My wife always the first person to find out about sales in local stores for items in our wishlists.

The life is changing, so are the customer habits. Therefore, businesses have to adapt to the needs of their customers, otherwise, they risk to be forgotten and disappear.