"Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?"

The revolution of technology have affected the world in various ways. However, many people find technologies like electronics devices or the Internet difficult to be proficient in, especially the elderly. Some potential resolutions are required to deal with this phenomenon due to the numerous advantages of those such as convenience or enhancement in many aspects of the elderly’ lives.

One of the primary causes leading to giving prominence to technologies in the daily basis of people is convenience. People like the elderly can easily connect with their relatives across the world via phone by using some apps such as Facebook or Messenger. These platforms provide individuals with various services in communication to get online meetings or send messages regardless of time and distance, especially the older people who are not strong enough to go too far to meet family members or relatives. Additionally, the benefit of advanced technologies could be attributed to the improvement of older people’s quality of life. Thanks to technology, older individuals can purchase not only the products they need, but also medicines from abroad. As a result, they can accomplish many tasks with their phones or online programs without depending on others. Recent stories in the media highlighted that, during the COVID 19 pandemic period in 2020, an increasing number of seniors benefited from online shopping and were able to connect with family members.

There are several ways to increase usage of technological devices among older citizens. Firstly, the elderly should be equipped with knowledge and education. Due to the fact that education plays a key role in enhancing elderly individuals’ knowledge about technology and breaking their prejudices against devices. Were family members set a new approach to learn how to use phones and other electronic devices, the number of elderly who can utilize modern devices would significantly increase. As well as this, the government can influence the usage of technology by providing seniors with electronic devices or some vouchers, as the majority of elderly are not eager to spend their limited sources on gadgets which they are unfamiliar with. For instance, various Vietnamese brands of technology like Viettel supply older people the sale up to 50 percent.

To sum up, technology has brought numerous benefits to the elderly’s lives such as the convenience or enhancement in quality of life. In order to encourage them to take advantage of mentioned benefits, families and the government should organize informative courses or provide some vouchers from famous brands.