Advances in artificial intelligence (AI) are rapidly changing the job market. To what extent do you think AI will replace human workers in the future? What skills will be most important for employees to develop in order to remain competitive?

It is obvious that development in AI is continuously affecting the job market as it is leaving less choice for people to choose from, specifically fewer computer work. Personally, i believe that while AI would definitely alter the labor market, it would not completely take human place.

Overall, it is undeniable how AI has proved its usefulness toward business. It could work as an online receptionist for any hotel or motel business, easily complete customer’s reservation and organise them systematically, ensuring the best efficiency for the business. Beside, AI is free or significantly cheaper than employing a worker, hence, it is easier to understand why some businesses rather utilize AI than recruiting a staff as there would be less deduction to their revenue.

Nevertheless, AI could never totally replace human for a number of reasons. Firstly, there are fields that require creativity and innovation such as culinary and art, however, AI is known to copy and rewrite the ideas that have already existed. Therefore, it could not substitute for human in these areas. Another reason is that inputs that AI learnt might have been wrong, leading to inevitable errors in the work stream, and when it has been a sequence of processes that heavily relies on the previous step, it would be likely that the business would suffer from the bug. There is less likelihood that human with expertise will make mistakes like this. Thus, human would not be wholly replaced by AI, but will be benefited with its help.

To avoid being taken away chance of employment, employees should learn to be constantly creative, always having initiatives in their minds. This is what differs human from AI as it could only work on what has been put in its system whereas human has the capability to create idea.