Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, with the rapid advancement of technology and media platforms, advertisments have become an integral part of daily life. From social media to public places, people are constantly exposed to various forms of advertisements. Although this trend has certain merits, it can be considered a negative development and the supporting points are elaborated in the subsequent paragraphs.

There are multifaceted positive effects of advertisements in modern society. Firsty, it makes consumers aware about latest information regarding products. To elaborate, individuals can compare price and quality of product and make their decision according their choice. Apart from that, it saves time of consumers to not do any extra research of product physically because they can see public reviews from online platforms. Secondly, it contributes to economic and business growth in society. To explicate, advertisements boost sales and increase profit of company. Moreover, it also support small business to promote their product online.

Paradoxically, there are myraid detrimental effects of excessive advertsing. The most prominent drawback is that it encourages materialistic behaviour among individuals. To detail it out, people spend unnecessary funds on several products due to attractive promotions. Another demerit is that, some advertisements provide false claims to customer. As a result, when any individual receive any product, it might be of poor quality. This leads to customer dissatisfaction and financial loss. Excessive pop-up ads can also distract people in their work or study. As a result, it makes negative impact on children and youth such as screen addiction and unhealthy habits.

In conclusion, although advertisements helps individuals to interact with customers and fosters sales and profit, its excessive use can result in waste of money, distraction and materialistic lifestyle among youngsters and children.