Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Advertising plays a crucial role in the modern world as a marketing tool, without which no company could survive. Despite the enterprise benefits, I believe that the large-scaling of online advertisements represents an unfavourable development, as it increasingly promotes gambling, hides computer viruses and leads to reduced trust level in marketing.

Online advertising is becoming globally more popular with each passing year, especially in social media. Nowadays, people get used to trust bloggers, although some of them could endorse the low-quality products and services for their enrichment. For example, content creators frequently promote games of chance, like online casino, as an easy method of money-making for anyone. As a result, teenagers and gullible people who seek to win the jackpot end up losing their funds.

Moreover, online ads, which are published across certain websites, often can be fake and serve as a cover for fraudsters. A clear illustration of that is advertisement of free antivirus software which downloads a trojan programme, spread other computer viruses and, eventually, steal users data. Furthermore, all aforementioned drawbacks cause the lack of trust to the advertising totally, as a result companies are forced to find other approaches for widespreading information about their products and services.

In conclusion, although the importance of advertisement is significant, in my opinion, its increasing popularisation has certain side effects as a population disbelief in marketing, due to the numerous cases of dishonest schemes like the gambling promotion, low-quality products endorsements and cheaters circuits through the Internet.