Advertising influences people to buy things such as clothes and shoes. What are the problems caused by that? What solutions can be given?

In today’s increasingly globalized world, there are ongoing debates about how impactful advertising is. There is a widely held belief that advertising brings out the most successful results in influencing consumers to buy clothes and shoes. This essay will demonstrate the problems caused by this trend and provide some possible solutions.

With the recent development of technologies, making visually striking ads has been overly facilitated. Many manufacturers create ads using AI or AI influenced applications, which look captivating and easily catch attention, however that is being used to promote low quality products. For instance, online shopping platforms upload an appealing photograph of a stunning looking dress without providing details about the material. This results in manipulating individuals into purchasing that piece of clothing. Among the most noticeable issues in the upward trajectory of advertising is also that it badly provokes overspending. In the recent years there has been created a new term to describe the members of society who get trapped in the strategies of marketing- “victims of marketing”. For example, a person enters a boutique to purchase a fur coat for winter and ends up buying light dresses as the beautiful poster about those dresses in the corner of the shop caught their attention.

To stop these problems from growing, authorities should set regulations for advertisement. Both major companies and small manufacturers should be responsible for the products they advertise and be obligated to provide information about them. For example, when making an advertisement campaign in social media for a piece of clothing, there should be a mandatory form to fill in about where it is made and the materials used. Another good solution is to educate people on how advertising works. By comprehending what is marketing and its strategies, people have a higher chance of avoiding subconscious spending and making wiser choices while shopping. One of the most famous traps is the strategy called “buy one item and get another one for free”. By explaining to the society that in fact they are paying for both items they will become more attentive and cautious.

In conclusion, advertising can be advantageous and disadvantageous at the same time. Taking the measures mentioned in this essay can raise its productivity and help ease the problems.