After leaving school or university, young people should choose a job or career that they love, rather than one that pays the best salary. Do you agree or disagree?

Choosing career based on personal preferences rather than on the salary ratios remains one of the most controversial issues among different circles of people. Some assume that the process of picking out the best career path should be grounded on the best salary, whereas others consider that people need to stick to their interests and feelings when they choose their future job because work without enjoyment can lead to unpleasant outcomes. I share the standpoint of those, who are sure that the job selection primarily has to be based on individual tastes.

Foremost, the main reason to choose a future career on the basis of personal preferences is increasing employees engagement in the work tasks. It comes as no surprise, people often can be more effective in their job responsibilities when they sincerely enjoy the work process. Therefore, someone, who doesn’t find their career attractive or interesting, tends to miss the deadlines or was caught in plagiarism. It is also necessary to refer actual data. Recent international statistics indicate that unloved frustration driving work makes people undergo problems such as procrastination or emotional exhaustion more frequently than those, who experience joy of their labour assignments.

Nevertheless, choosing only a favorite job without regarding a minimum wage can prevent people from building a career in a long-term and successful prospect. Especially the creative professions, such as artists, actors or writers, usually are followed by low salary at the early stages of work. Also low-paid job can become the main obstacle in acquiring personal property or obtaining the material benefits for comfortable living standards. Both of this reasons often cause the feeling of worthlessness in people. The world-wide researches show that it is not uncommon when employees are compelled to exchange their career path for something more prestigious due to the low salary.

In conclusion, although some advocates stand by the point that people should prefer their career path only based on high salary, others believe that those, who stick to choose a favorite profession, are more protected from procrastination and emotional fatigue. I think that people ought to combine business with pleasure and select their profession with both profitable and bringing joy options.