Agree disagree, university education should be free as a basic right.

Some people argue that university education should be free in terms of a basic right without regard to a student’s financial background. I disagree with the viewpoint. While higher education available, doing it cost free for everyone would cause economic hardship and poor in academic quality.

One major issue that it’s a huge loss for government. Universities are in the need of funding for special rooms such as libraries, laboratories, lecturer or seminar rooms with the professors’ salaries. A good case in point is the countries which spend on so much money in public education for per student each year. If tuition were cancelled, the government would have to increase the taxes and essential services such as healthcare and public transports for the purpose of recovering it, resulting in more difficult for society, especially for low-income inhabitants who rely on these support services.

Another problem is that providing free education for all often leads to low academic quality. When the number of students rises, the quality of education may decrease. Universities can be pertinent example of the system which class sizes are small, students receive more personalized support, often resulting in better academic performance.

In conclusion, although university education plays a crucial role in social development, making it completely free for all students is not fair. A more effective approach for low-income students can provide strong financial support, while those who can afford totally might make contribution to the benefit of their education.