Agree or Disagree: In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family.

Earning a living is the main activity in a family that aims to live and live. Usually, earning a living is assigned to only one person, namely the head of the family. However, in this day and age, with so many needs, earning a living should not be left to just one person, an alternative is needed. I am of the opinion that earning a living is the responsibility of both spouses to meet the rising standard of living.

There are many good reasons for only one spouse to earn a living. Most importantly, when the other spouse is earning a living the other spouse focuses on taking care of the house. The spouse who takes care of the home has the opportunity to focus on taking care of the home. Activities to take care of the house, such as taking care of children, cleaning the house, and others will be neglected if both partners earn a living. By making a living for only one partner, it will give a family the opportunity to divide their respective roles. Therefore, we cannot underestimate breadwinning that is assigned to only one spouse.

But nowadays, many people argue that earning a living is the responsibility of both spouses. With many needs, they must have a job to generate a lot of income in earning a living. This will make sure that their needs are met. We often see news about both spouses actively earning a living with various professions, such as those of artist families. In addition, earning a living involving both spouses will reduce the burden of dependents between the two. Earning a living with only one spouse will not be effective in meeting the needs and high standards of today.

Both views have valid points. However, I strongly believe that earning a living should be the responsibility of both partners. If it is taking care of the house, that task can be assigned to a professional and responsible caregiver. Parents should not neglect their role at home.

In conclusion, although most families assign earning a living to only one spouse, in an effort to divide the roles in the family, I feel that earning a living that involves both spouses will be more effective in meeting the many needs of today.