All education and healthcare should be funded by the government and free for everyone. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The authority has numerous responsibilities. In this context, there is a claim that the government should provide free education and healthcare for all citizens. I partly agree with this argument.

It is true that education and healthcare are vital, therefore, it is argued that they should be free all individuals. Undoubtedly, there are a lot of people from disadvantaged backgrounds in every societies. Hence, they can gain knowledge if those with power fund education, resulting in an increase in literacy rate. Moreover, there are the elderly who do not have withdrawals to pay an annual medical check-ups, treatments and medicines. If free healthcare is provided by regulator, mortality rate may decrease whereas life expectancy can rise. Thus, humans may surely benefit from free education and healthcare.

However, there may be other fields for the government to contemplate. The most important is agriculture, meaning that if the authority allocate public funds, it can achieve food security. Consequently, economy can boom. Furthermore, defense needs money in order to provide security. As a consequence, crime rate may decrease. Finally, the government should spend money on alternative energy initiatives, for example, solar energy, wind power and hydroelectric energy, which means that current global environmental problems, for instance, air pollution, global warming and climate change can be addressed, reducing national carbon footprint level. Thus, the environment, people and country can certainly benefit.

In my view, it is undeniable that people have the right to acquire knowledge and get healthcare. However, policymaker has already provided basic things, such as it built hospitals with cutting-edge technologies and schools with state-of-the-art technologies. In essence, regulator should support social security and local charities. This means that individuals at working-age should provide themselves to learn or to get healthcare. The government should spend money on other fields.

In conclusion, while free education and healthcare may be crucial, there are obviously other considerations that lawmaker should take into account. Therefore, I partly agree with the statement.