All healthcare should be free. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that people should not have to pay for healthcare. I completely agree with this idea.

There are a number of reasons why people should have access to universal healthcare. First of all, with free healthcare, nobody needs to worry about whether or not they will be able to afford treatment. Not having this added financial stress is a good way to not only prevent severe sickness in the first place, but also to recover more quickly. A second advantage is that a population that has unlimited access to healthcare is likely to be more healthy in the long term. Over time, a healthy population is more productive, happier and generally forms a more cohesive and civilised society.

Even though there are arguments against socialised medicine, I feel that they are unpersuasive. On the one hand, some may argue that the wealthy should have to pay for their own services as they can afford them. However, it is also true that wealthy people, at least in most countries, pay the most in taxes, and so in this context it is not unreasonable for them to receive this service from the government. On the other hand, some may point to those who have unhealthy lifestyles, for example smokers and overweight people, and wonder why wise hardworking individuals should pay taxes for the healthcare of such people. To this argument I would say that all people have value as human beings whether they are rich or poor, wise or foolish, and ultimately it is for this reason that they, and all people, should receive free healthcare.

In conclusion, universal healthcare should be the right of every person, no matter their status or behaviour, due to the many benefits that it provides to both individuals and society as a whole.