All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children specific skills but others think that having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Giving the most beneficial opportunities for children is a fundamental thing All parents aspire to. While it is thought by some that education system should provide children skills, others consider teaching a range of subject is more useful for children’s future. In my opinion, there should be a proper combination between academic and practical skills.

On the one hand, exposing children to applied skills can benefit them as it can be implemented in their daily life. They can do a trial and error such new abilities immediately without waiting for the examination. To illustrate, a pupil who is taught about effective communication could directly perform in their home. Furthermore, this skill development can be an attractive way to explore children’s passion. They might easily identify their interest if the school can show various skills and provide intensive training.

On the other hand, although teaching applied skills for children is vital for their life, learning a number of basic subjects is also mandatory. In other words, preparing children to be scientists is crucial in the future as the role of the scientist community still matters for human beings’ development.

In my opinion, there should be a proportional choice the school accommodate for children. Therefore, the school should cluster the interest of children who want to be a scientist and just ordinary people.

In conclusion, even though teaching students practical skills can be a beneficial thing, they also should learn basic academics. The school can create a system that is suitable for both skill development and fundamental subjects.