All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children specific skills but others think that having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is true that every parent wants their children to have the best opportunities. Some argue that children should be taught skills at school, while others say that having a variety of subjects is more crucial for children’s future. Although there are some benefits to learning certain abilities, I believe that mastering different subjects has more advantages for children’s future.

On the one hand, teaching children specific skills can significantly enhance their future career prospects. In today’s job market, individuals equipped with skills, such as problem solving, communication, and working with computers, are valued the most by employers. Furthermore, certain skills like financial literacy and time management are more practical and can be applied to real-life situations. For example, children who learn these skills are less likely to struggle to combat modern challenges. Moreover, by eliminating irrelevant subjects, which do not play any role in pupils’ personal development and future jobs, schools can save up children’s precious time.

On the other hand, some people believe that it is more beneficial to teach children a variety of academic subjects to ensure their overall progress, and I agree. Firstly, learning different subjects such as math, history, art, science, and geography broadens pupils’ horizons and plays a pivotal role in developing critical thinking and creativity. Secondly, students who want to pursue their careers in STEM fields must be proficient at some of those subjects. Finally, another important aspect of providing diverse subjects at school is that it opens up opportunities for children to find what their real interests are. For instance, I developed a passion for biology after my first lesson.

In conclusion, I can understand why people might want to encourage teaching skills at schools, but it seems to me that emphasizing a wide range of subjects is more desirable for children’s overall growth.