Personalized medicine. Ethical concerns. To what extent do you agree?

There has been an ongoing debate regarding whether the increase of a medicine which is costumized solely for one individual’s genetic information is a positive development or not. While some individuals believe that it will be a huge revolutionary innovation in the health field, others argue that its accessibility will be unfair. In my opinion, its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

With the rise of technology, there have been numerous machineries built to improve the healthcare system. Likewise, this innovation, which is personalized to one person’s DNA, can level up the industry’s capability to enhance public well-being. The primary reason is that, through the personalization, the medicine’s efficiency is increased significantly from other existing forms. For example, a bacterial disease that is antibiotic-resistant can be easily cured by a personalized pill, which is coded to break the resistance of that bacterium. Moreover, patients with rare diseases, including brain cancer, can benefit greatly from this development as it offers treatments, which was limited in the past due to its lack of prevalence.

On the other hand, some individuals contend that this form of pills are not cost-effective and the availibility of it is only limited to rich people. Even though it is true that it cannot be taken as widely as other medicines, we need to acknowledge the freshness of the product. Due the reason that it is a relatively recent innovation, it takes long periods of time for it to be mass-produced and consumed by regular costumers.

In conclusion, in spite of the problems regarding the accessibility of the pill, I believe that it can be the key solution to numerous health problems such as cancer and diabetes.