It is more important to spend public money promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought believe that the government should allocate public spending to encourage a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent health problems rather than spending it on patients who are already ill, From my perspective, I completely concur with this statement, as this development may form discipline among citizens and help them achieve a healthy lifestyle faster. In this essay, I will delve into the reason behind my opinion by adding relevant examples and explanations before reaching my own conclusion.

Admittedly, some individuals argue that it is essential to spend national budget on curing ill patients because many of them may not be able to afford hospital expenses. Specifically, the poor often reside in contaminated, unhygienic places such as slums or abandoned buildings. Therefore, they may be prone to suffer from some serious illnesses, such as asthma and tuberculosis. Since most of them are not able the expensive hospital expenses, it is necessary for the government to provide financial assistance for them, so that their diseases could be treated effectively. However, I partially disagree with this stance, as a substantial amount of money is required to cure these illnesses. Consequently, the government may not have enough public funding available for other essential sectors, such as education and army, leading to the national degradation in the long run.

By contrast, I totally contend that the government should allocate public funding to promote a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent further illness. This is based on the fact that there are several factors contributing to a healthy lifestyle, such as a proper diet and regular exercise, and a person can achieve a healthy lifestyle if they are diligent to follow a suitable approach. As a result, if the government invest national budget to this method, discipline may be formed among citizens. As a result, many of them may achieve a healthy lifestyle in a short period of time, thereby preventing them from serious health problems. For instance, the Vietnamese government invested 10 million VietNamdong in constructing a theme park in Hanoi in 2015, so that citizens living near there could jog and do exercise on a regular basis. This is clear evidence emphasizing the importance of public funding in promoting a healthy lifestyle and preventing futher health problems.

In conclusion, while some claims that the government should spend their national budget on curing patients because most of them are underpriviliged individuals and they are not able to afford the expensive hospital expenses, I still agree that it is necessary to allocate public funding to encourage citizens following a healthy lifestyle because it may form discipline among them and their quality of life may be improved faster.