People are increasingly using food delivery apps instead of cooking at home. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern world, the trend of online food order is being more popular day-by-day. While this practice generates a large amount of revenue as well as saves time, I firmly believe that the drawbacks of using food delivery apps outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, the most substantial upside of food delivery apps is the increase in opportunities. Firstly, the government gets a significant portion of tax from restaurant chains. Moreover, an increase in order creates a demand for human resources in food delivery, cooking and management support enhancing job opportunities. For instance, in Bangladesh many staff work in platforms like Foodpanda, Pathao and earn their livelihood. Furthermore, the food delivery apps offer the customers food from different restaurants that saves the time needed for cooking, as working individuals with a busy work schedule often orders food from delivery apps. That’s why, many prefer ordering food rather than cooking.

By contrast, ordered fastfood items that lack necessary nutrients and contain more trans fat which cause cardiovascular diseases and obesity. In addition, restaurants often lack proper monitoring and management of food processing and use unhealthy preservatives and additives that can be extremely detrimental for human health. For example, a report published by renowned newspaper Prothom Alo revealed that, almost 500 restaurants in Dhaka use prohibited color additives and chemicals to enhance food taste which maybe a major reason for increased health issues like dysentry. Additionally, the apps sometimes attract the customers with lucrative offers that is often just a nominal presentation, in reality they are just showing a fake discount or offering the customer a coupon just to order more.

In conclusion, the adverse effects of ordered foods may lead to further physical problems and loss of money. Although online app based food orders offer several pros, this essay contends that the advantages do not outweigh the shortcomings.