With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Historically, natural products have long been the main source of food. However, with an increasing number of people, many claim that the main focus should be on producing more genetically modified foods. In this essay, I will explore the upsides and downsides of this.

One of the primary benefits of producing GM foods is that they can last longer without going off. Natural milk, for instance, may become spoiled within a week unless it is in a suitable place. The milk in supermarkets, on the other hand, can be saved outside the fridge without going off. Another advantage is the taste of GM foods. It is not controversial to say that many people tend to love products that contain numerous flavors, such as burgers and crisps. GM foods can provide that, since they often boost the taste significantly.

Despite the advantages, GM foods could be detrimental for people’s health. GM foods are likely to be high in sugar and cholesterol, both of which are known for its destructive nature for health. A further drawback is that genetically modified foods might be highly addictive. When consuming a large amount of GM foods, a person’s brain is likely to produce a significant amount of dopamine, which can lead to a person being addicted. As a result, the person might become less satisfied with their life, potentially leading to some mental problems.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that these foods are convenient and delicious, they can be detrimental for physical well-being and be addictive.