Advances in artificial intelligence will soon replace many human jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, AI has completely changed our perception of work and its usage is increasing everyday. Researchers argues on the possibility of it replacing humans beings, underlying that there are several pros and cons to consider.

As regards the advantages, one of the most significant aspects is costs. Industries state that using AI has significantly reduced the costs of producing and hiring. AI, in fact, does not need to paid for its working hour. As a consequence, companies save money and invest on new technology. Furthermore, AI is the right tool to exploit in a capitalistic and fast environment. Tasks are usually finished and it meets all the deadlines, making the production more effective in the long term.

Despite these positive aspects, AI might lead to disadvantages for the population. The most remarkable issue regards the job market. Workers struggle to find jobs in this economy, ruled by robot. This causes poverty and unemployment among people, who seek an occupation and see themselves replaced by technology. Secondly, while AI can objectively be fast, it does not guarantee the interaction and social relations that human being promote in the work place. Some jobs, as medical and legal, require empathy and creating a strong bond with other people. Moreover, AI easily make mistakes that are visible only to humans eyes.

In conclusion, using AI can lead to positive and negative consequences. However, I strongly believe that the disadvantages outweight the advantages due to several reasons. First of all, humans being are losing their sense of belonging in their jobs, the feelings and sense of a community is at risk when AI takes over. Secondly, the mistakes made might easily produce misunderstandings and, consequently, risks for companies.